Plan E

Plan E is a City Manager form of government with nine Councillors and six School Committee members elected at large by Proportional Representation (PR) for a two year term. After members of the Council take the oath of office in January, they elect one of the nine to serve as Mayor.

The City Council is the lawmaking body, appointing a City Manager, City Clerk, and City Auditor.

The City Manager is the chief administrative officer of the city carrying out policies of the City Council for an indefinite term.

The Mayor is the official head of the city for all ceremonial purposes, the presiding officer of the Council when it is in session, and the chairman of the school Committee.

Click here to go back to the index page.

Last updated on June 22, 1994.
Eric Loeb (, Nancy Cheung (
Intelligent Information Infrastructure Project
Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology